Sometimes when you use a card for the first time, your payment provider may contact your payment card's issuing bank to confirm that your card number is valid, and hasn't been reported as lost or stolen. This is communicated via a £1.00/€1.00/$1.00 authorisation. However, the charge of £1.00/€1.00/$1.00 won't appear as a charge on your statement.
If you pay with a card that you've saved within your Google Pay, you may see a charge of £1.00/€1.00/$1.00 twice.
The authorisation will normally lapse within 10 business days.